Jesus Christ, The Word of God & the bread of life

At the last supper, on passover, Jesus Christ took bread and blessed it, and gave it to his disciples and said, “Take, eat; this is my body”, Matthew 26:26 and Mark 14:22. In Luke 22:19, it is recorded that Jesus also said, “this do in remembrance of me”. Luke 22:19 explains the rite of Eucharist or Communion.

After reading Revelation 10:9-10, a verse about the end times and perhaps the book of Zephaniah, I figure to “eat” the body of Christ must surely also mean to read the Bible.

“And I went unto the angel, and said unto him, Give me the little book. And he said unto me, Take it, and eat it up; and it shall make thy belly bitter, but it shall be in thy mouth sweet as honey. And I took the little book out of the angel’s hand, and ate it up; and it was in my mouth sweet as honey: and as soon as I had eaten it, my belly was bitter.”
– Revelation 10:9-10

In Ezekiel 3:1-4, Ezekiel is asked to “eat” a roll, and after that he goes to the house of Israel to preach.

More tellingly, in Proverbs 9, wisdom personified says, “Come, eat of my bread”.

Wisdom hath builded her house, she hath hewn out her seven pillars: She hath killed her beasts; she hath mingled her wine; she hath also furnished her table. She hath sent forth her maidens: she crieth upon the highest places of the city, Whoso is simple, let him turn in hither: as for him that wanteth understanding, she saith to him, Come, eat of my bread, and drink of the wine which I have mingled. Forsake the foolish, and live; and go in the way of understanding.”
– Proverbs 9:1-6

Above all, I say, to eat the body of Christ is to read the Bible because Jesus is “The Word of God”, Revelation 19:13, and also John 1:1 and John 1:14.

“And he was clothed with a vesture dipped in blood: and his name is called The Word of God.”
– Revelation 19:13

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.
– John 1:1

“And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.”
– John 1:14

Salvation depends on the word of God. In Romans 10:17, it is said, “faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God”.

“For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved. How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?”
– Romans 10:13-14

In John 6:33-35 and John 6:47-58, Jesus said, he is “the bread of life” from heaven, and all who come towards him shall never hunger, and all who believe on him shall never thirst.

“And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.”
– John 6:35

Thus, The Word of God and the bread of life.

“Whoso eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath eternal life; and I will raise him up at the last day.”
– John 6:54

