Pope Francis says Jesus’s life “ended in failure, the failure of the cross”

In September 2015, Pope Francis visited America.

While in Philadelphia, Pope Francis extolled America’s founding fathers, even speaking of “religious freedom”. No Christian should ever encourage freedom of religion, because it is contrary to the commandments of the LORD, Exodus 20:3-5 and Mark 12:30.

Standing at Independence Hall in Philadelphia, Pope Francis invited the audience to pray the LORD’s prayer, ref. Matthew 6:9-13. But the Vatican’s first Jesuit pope mumbled through parts of the prayer, and could not finish. Notably, it appears Pope Francis could not bring himself to say “thy kingdom come”, “thy will be done” and “deliver us from evil”. Furthermore, at one point, it sounds as if he said “hell” instead of “earth”.

Worse, while in New York, at St. Patrick’s Cathedral, Pope Francis delivered a sermon and said, Jesus’s life, “humanly speaking, ended in failure, the failure of the cross”. This is heresy!

Fundamental to Christianity is the idea that Jesus Christ, the Lamb of God, died on the cross to take away the sin of the world, John 1:29.

For as in Adam all die, even so in Christ shall all be made alive.
– 1 Corinthians 15:22

“And I will put enmity between thee and the woman, and between thy seed and her seed; it shall bruise thy head, and thou shalt bruise his heel.”
– Genesis 3:15

“Now is the judgment of this world: now shall the prince of this world be cast out. And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men unto me.”
– John 12:31-32

Jesus Christ came to earth the first time, for this purpose.

“But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.”
– Isaiah 53:5

“Now is my soul troubled; and what shall I say? Father, save me from this hour: but for this cause came I unto this hour.”
– John 12:27

“Saying, The Son of man must suffer many things, and be rejected of the elders and chief priests and scribes, and be slain, and be raised the third day.”
– Luke 9:22

Before the crucifixion, Jesus Christ said, no man will take his life from him but he will lay it down himself.

“I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine. As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep.”
– John 10:14-15

No man taketh it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment have I received of my Father.”
– John 10:18

Therefore, the cross was not a failure.

With regard to doing the work of the Lord, which is the context of Pope Francis’s speech in New York, note 1 Corinthians 15:57-58.

“But thanks be to God, which giveth us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my beloved brethren, be ye stedfast, unmoveable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, forasmuch as ye know that your labour is not in vain in the Lord.”
– 1 Corinthians 15:57-58

